Welcome to our Family

In 2019, the Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads and the Virginia State Firefighters Association have partnered to put on a Convention for First Responders.

 This is the first time that both organizations have attempted this in their rich history.  

Meet the organizations:


Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads

“the VAVRS”

The Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads was founded in 1935 to provide EMS training and resources for Rescue Squads across the state of Virginia. Since that time we have provided thousands of training programs and have certified or re-certified thousands of new and existing EMS personnel. This has led to hundreds of thousands of lives being saved. 

Currently with more than 18,000 members across the Commonwealth, the VAVRS works to fulfill their mission to Rescue Squads and First Responders.  

VAVRS Mission Statement

"The VAVRS shall promote and assist member rescue squads in improving pre-hospital care in Virginia."

 Pre-hospital care shall mean providing rescue functions and rendering of emergency care for patients outside the hospital.

The VAVRS shall help its members improve pre-hospital care by:

•Providing training to it members.

•Improving communications and liaisons between agencies.

•Promoting legislation beneficial to pre-hospital providers.

•Providing management and assistance services.

•Promoting and recognizing pre-hospital providers.

The VAVRS also encourages the growth or EMS and Emergency Medical Technician and support of EMS agencies through the Junior Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads and the Auxiliary to the Virginia Association of Volunteer Rescue Squads.

  • 2019 Officers
  • President   Scott Davis
  • Vice President   Connie Moore
  • Secretary   Wesley Melson
  • Treasurer   Wayne Rapp
  • Training Officer   Curtis Crawford
  • Chaplin   Joey King
  • Chaplin Emeritus   A. Page Entsminger
  • Historian   Dreama Chandler
  • Immediate Past President    Kim Craig
  • Executive Director   Matt Henke


VSFA – Virginia State Firefighters Association

“the VSFA”

The Virginia State Firefighters Association, founded in 1886, has long served as the champions of Virginia’s fire service organizations and personnel. With more than 13,000 members across the Commonwealth, the VSFA works to provide for better and affordable fire protection in Virginia by advocating for legislative action to benefit Virginia fire departments, rescue squads and support Virginia’s emergency responders. The VSFA works to preserve the heritage and value of the volunteer fire service while bridging relations as organizations expand to become combination career and volunteer services or evolve to become all career fire departments. We also serve fire brigades that protect Virginia’s critical infrastructures, installations, and historic landmarks.

The VSFA advocates for legislation, training, and resources to permit Virginia’s fire service and rescue squad to better protect the communities they serve; thus, the VSFA is “for the people’s good.”  The VSFA also works to provide social, supportive programs for Virginia firefighters, such as Line-of-Duty-Death benefit, educational scholarships.

The annual conference/expo presents a great opportunity for firefighters from all over Virginia to meet, make new friends, and catch up with old friends while influencing the business of the VSFA and gaining training in pertinent topics of interest to the fire service community at large.  A popular component of the conference/expo is the contests and truck rodeo.

The VSFA serves as a trusted agent, collaborating with other fire/emergency service organizations at the state and national levels, working on the issues that affect all firefighters, such as safety, fundraising, building capabilities, improved fire and life safety codes.

  • 2019 Officers
  • President   Jimmy Byer
  • 1st President   Ken Brown
  • 2nd President   Pete Kirby
  • 3rd President   Walt Bailey
  • Treasurer   Mike Masciola
  • Secretary   Scott Cain
  • Chaplin   Dale Jamison
  • Executive Director   Larry Gwaltney